User Showcase picture

Texas Clinical Nurse Specialists – TxCNS

  • Association
  • Austin
  • Texas
  • Contact
    Springer Publishing Passport

    History of the Organization

    Texas Clinical Nurse Specialists was begun in March 2003 by a group of CNS leaders in Texas and formally adopted Bylaws in January 2004. We have functioned as a virtual group with meetings by conference calls and emails. Originally based in Richardson, Texas, the organization moved its home base to Austin, Texas as of spring 2006.



    Heather Cuevas, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FCNS, Assitant Professor, The University of Texas at Austin

    Immediate Past-President
    Megan Wheeler, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, Structural Heart Coordinator, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

    Sarah Andrews, RN, ACNS-BC, ANVP-BC, MSc, SCRN, PCCN, CMRSN, Stroke Program Coordinator, Baylor Scott & White Health


    Ellen Munsterman, MSN, RN, AGCNS-BC
    Gerontology Program Coordinator
    Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital, Ft Worth

    Linda Cole, DNP, RN, APRN, CCNS, CPHQ, CNE
    Assistant Professor, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

    Director, Center for Advanced Clinical Practice, CHI St. Luke's Health - Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center

    Legislation/Regulation Committee
    Irene Gilliland, PhD, APRN, CNS-M/S, ACHPN
    Assistant Professor
    Ila Faye Miller School of Nursing
    University of the Incarnate Word, San Antonio, TX

    Membership Committee

    Jame Restau, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, ACHPN
    Clinical Nurse Specialist, Palliative Care
    Baylor Scott & White Medical Center at Irving

    Megan Wheeler, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC