User Showcase picture

Advanced Practice Nurses of the Permian Basin

  • Association
  • Midland
  • Texas
  • Contact
    Springer Publishing Passport

    A registered nurse, approved by the board to practice as an advanced practice nurse based on completing an advanced educational program acceptable to the board. The term includes a nurse practitioner, nurse-midwife, nurse anesthetist, and a clinical nurse specialist. The advanced practice nurse is prepared to practice in an expanded role to provide health care to individuals, families, and/or groups in a variety of settings including but not limited to homes, hospitals, institutions, offices, industry, schools, community agencies, public and private clinics, and private practice. The advanced practice nurse acts independently and/or in collaboration with other health care professionals in the delivery of health care services. The Board of Nurse Examiners for the State of Texas, Rules and Regulations §221.1(3) and §222.1(1)


    Nurse Practitioners (NP)

    A Nurse Practitioner is a registered nurse (RN) who has advanced education and clinical training in a health care specialty area. Nurse practitioners provide health care within their scope of practice, prescribe medications, diagnose and treat, and collaborate with or refer patients to other health care professionals when needed. Nurse Practitioners serve as primary health care providers for children and adults during health and illness.


    Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNS)

    A Clinical Nurse Specialist is an APN who provides managed care and has broad advanced education and clinical training in nursing. They function as both a direct and indirect health care provider and educator in hospitals, long-term care facilities and communities. Some CNSs also manage individuals’ health problems and prescribe medications independently and/or in collaboration with other health care professionals.


    Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNA)

    Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists in are recognized as licensed independent practitioners. With an order for an anesthetic by a physician, dentist, or podiatrist, CRNAs are authorized to provide anesthesia services within the scope of their licensure and in accordance with clinical privileges. CRNAs provide anesthesia in collaboration with surgeons, anesthesiologists, dentists, podiatrists, and other qualified healthcare professionals.


    Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM)

    Certified Nurse Midwife’s practice is an independent management of women's health care. It focuses on pregnancy, childbirth, postpartum care, newborn care, and the family planning and gynecological needs of women. CNM practices are structured to allow for consultation, collaboration, and referral to other health care providers for care outside the nurse-midwives' expertise.